Home > Photography > How To Clean Cokin Filters

How To Clean Cokin Filters

As much as I love my Cokin ND Grad filters and see them as one of the best investments I have made in my camera bag, I was disappointed to find that Cokin have not published any information on the topic of cleaning and maintaining their filters. Furthermore, there is very little information available on the topic around the net. Given that the filters are the most exposed pieces of equipment in a photo shoot, and often come home covered in dust or sea spray, I think such instructions are vital to their ongoing usability… so here I am, publishing the process that I use to clean my Cokin filters.

Naturally, this blog post comes with the usual disclaimer: it is purely an informational account of the process that I use to clean my Cokin filters, is totally unofficial, and of course, I accept no responsibility for any damage that may occur to your filters if you follow this process.

With that out of the way, the process is simple really:

  1. Fill a large bowl with warm water and a squirt of dishwashing detergent;
  2. Place filters in the bowl one-by-one;
  3. Wipe gently with a soft cloth;
  4. Stand filters on the bench for a while to drip dry;
  5. When dry, breathe on each side of the filter and polish with a soft, dry cloth;
  6. Place filters in protective cases and return to my camera bag.

This simple process has worked well for me without showing any signs of damaging the filters themselves. I have heard of others going out and spending their hard-earned cash on special cleaning fluids and so on, but I haven’t found it to be necessary… I’d much rather save my money for the next investment in my camera bag or for petrol to get me on location for more landscape photography.

If anybody has more effective methods for cleaning their Cokin filters, I’d love to hear them!

Categories: Photography Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

