Home > Marketing, Photography > Monthly Review for April 2010

Monthly Review for April 2010

So here I am, one month on from deciding to share my renewed passion for photography with the world… but how far have I come in that month?

My focus in April was two-fold: establishing a fine art folio on RedBubble, and establishing my presence on the most popular social networking sites (Facebook and Twitter). I’ve certainly achieved both of these objectives, with a popular range of 41 artworks published on RedBubble, 48 fans on my Facebook page, and 933 followers on my Twitter profile.

I have made 2 sales of my artwork on RedBubble: one postcard and one large canvas print (click either image below for a larger view):

Dusk at Middle Brighton Baths #3

Dusk at Middle Brighton Baths #3

Night at Melba Tunnel

Night at Melba Tunnel

Given the popularity of my artwork on RedBubble (with 6,936 views, 582 comments and 218 favouritings), I have to ask myself why I’ve made so few sales? I mean, 2 sales from 6,936 views is a really pathetic conversion rate of only 0.02%. I think the issue is that, through all my online marketing channels, I am targeting other artists and photographers, most of which would prefer to spend their hard-earned cash on developing their own artwork rather than printing mine. This is something that I plan to address in May by moving the scope of my marketing activities to more profitable demographics.

Now that I’ve got that off my chest, on with the show…¬†9 artworks (including the two shown above) were featured in RedBubble groups during April, giving me great exposure amongst the RedBubble community and helping to establish my presence there. Click on any of the images below to view larger:

Dusk at The Dell #2

Dusk at The Dell #2

Stormy Sunset Above The Pinnacles

Stormy Sunset Above The Pinnacles

Dusk at The Dell #1

Dusk at The Dell #1

Dusk at Elwood Jetty #2

Dusk at Elwood Jetty #2

Dusk at Elwood Jetty #1

Dusk at Elwood Jetty #1

Night Under Princes Bridge

Night Under Princes Bridge

Foggy Night at Lilydale Lake #1

Foggy Night at Lilydale Lake #1

In addition to all these group features, which I am very grateful for, Dusk at Middle Brighton Baths #3 (shown above as one of my sales) was featured in RedBubble’s Featured Art Gallery, which was a great honour! The following¬†artwork was also featured in this prestigious gallery (click for larger view):

Dusk at Mentone Pier #1

Dusk at Mentone Pier #1

And with that, we move on with the month of May.¬†Although I will always plan on continuing the development of my fine art folio on RedBubble, I do want to focus a little more on my commercial folio in the coming month… fashion/portraits, cars, real estate, retail products, etc. Work is currently underway on my own photography web site, and I hope to have it up and running for all to see during May… watch this space!

Categories: Marketing, Photography Tags:
  1. Wibisono
    May 1, 2010 at 12:27 PM

    waw..
    what a nice picture
    *like the last because u capture the light

    >>Dusk at Elwood Jetty #1
    like this one better

    what your camera? are this ori not edited by application ?(expect to resize?)

    my site is http://duapuluh9.wordpress.com
    *plz visit

    • May 1, 2010 at 12:36 PM

      Thanks, mate… glad you liked them!

      In response to your questions: my camera is a Canon EOS 450D (see Inside My Camera Bag), and the level of post-processing varies from image to image (some are HDR and significantly enhanced beyond the original photo; others are pretty much published as they were captured).

  1. May 4, 2010 at 4:49 PM

Leave a Reply

