Home > Art, Marketing, Photography > Monthly Review for May 2010

Monthly Review for May 2010

So here we are again, another month over… time for another monthly review to see what we’ve achieved and set our course for the month ahead!

As per my previous monthly review for April, my focus this month has been split between commercial and fine art photography. Although I did have a few opportunities to develop my commercial folio during May thanks to some kind-hearted individuals who were happy to model for me, I still haven’t developed this side of my photography to a point of marketing myself as a full-service commercial photographer. This hasn’t been helped by the fact that going on location to further develop my fine art landscape folio has always been so much more enticing that being cooped up in a studio somewhere.

A continual focus on developing my online presence, however, has certainly been fruitful during May! My Facebook fan page now has 76 fans (an increase of 58% over last month’s total), while my Twitter account now has 2,314 followers (a whopping increase of 148% over last month’s total). I’ve been receiving numerous requests from other artists and photographers who want me to publish a blog post about maximising Twitter’s potential, so stay tuned for that one…

Thankfully, my artwork has continued to be well received by the RedBubble community, with two more sales in May (one greeting card and one matted print)… click any image below for a larger view:

work.5209950.1.papergc,441x415,w,ffffff.v4[1]

work.5133163.1.mat,375x360,bright_white,ffffff[1]

Coincidentally, the second image above (Alfred Nicholas’ Boathouse #1) received a placing in The Dandenongs group’s Cool Hills challenge, and consequently I have been invited to exhibit it at Elevation in Emerald shortly… more details to come soon!

A number of my artworks were featured in groups again, which I’m sure contributed greatly to the increase in my stats throughout May, for a total of 13,485 views (an increase of 94% over last month’s total), 1,010 comments (an increase of 74% over last month’s total) and 364 favouritings (an increase of 67% over last month’s total)… click any image below for a larger view:

work.5209836.1.fp,375x360,black,bright_white,box20,s,ffffff[2]

work.5161063.1.fp,375x360,black,bright_white,box20,s,ffffff[1]

work.5234620.1.fp,375x360,black,bright_white,box20,s,ffffff[1]

work.5168417.1.fp,375x360,black,bright_white,box20,s,ffffff[2]

work.5133261.1.fp,375x360,black,bright_white,box20,s,ffffff[2]

work.5109482.1.fp,375x360,black,black,box20,s,ffffff[1]

work.5161098.1.fp,375x360,black,black,box20,s,ffffff[1]

So, on to June then… I know it’s futile for me to suggest that the development of my fine art folio will go on the backburner while I focus on developing the commercial side of my photography, so instead I’ll say that the goal will be to strike a better balance between the two. Hopefully my efforts on launching the web site will not continue to be hampered by technical difficulties and Internet connectivity issues this month, so watch this space for the big announcement shortly (I hope!). I’ve really started to see the value of social networking over the last month (as far as increasing my RedBubble stats is concerned), so I will certainly be looking to build up my online presence even further in June… from the numbers above, I don’t think that an increase in the vicinity of 100% over the next month is an unreasonable goal!

Categories: Art, Marketing, Photography Tags:

Leave a Reply

